Friendly Advocate,
Skilled Strategist
Book Your Free Consultation

Divorce Attorney in Somerset County, New Jersey

Divorce is always a stressful and emotionally-challenging experience, even if you are certain that ending your marriage is the right thing to do. If you want to get a divorce, you deserve experienced legal representation to ensure that your rights are protected. 

As a divorce attorney at Gary Blaustein, Esq, I am ready to serve as your advocate during this challenging time and help you make informed decisions throughout the divorce proceedings. Ultimately, I strive to help clients seek a fair resolution to ensure that they can move forward with their lives. 

From my office in Basking Ridge, I serve clients throughout Somerset County, New Jersey, including Somerville, Warren, and Bedminster. 

Eligibility to File for Divorce in New Jersey

Not everyone is eligible to get a divorce in New Jersey. Under state law, you must comply with residency requirements to be eligible to file for divorce. Residency requirements refer to the minimum amount of time spouses have lived in the state before the date of filing for divorce.  

Under New Jersey law, at least one of the spouses must have resided in the state for a minimum of 12 months before filing a petition for divorce. However, the residency requirement may be waived if a spouse is seeking a fault divorce based on adultery as long as one spouse currently resides in the state.  

Ready to Move Forward?

Contact Me

Grounds for Divorce in New Jersey  

New Jersey law recognizes both fault and no-fault grounds for divorce. When seeking a divorce on no-fault grounds, you and your spouse must have lived separately and apart for a minimum of 18 consecutive months. If that is the case, you can seek a dissolution of your marriage if there is no possibility of reconciling.  

Citing “irreconcilable differences” is a way to obtain a no-fault divorce that exists for couples who may still be living together but can prove that irreconcilable differences existed for at least six months.  

The fault grounds for the dissolution of marriage might include:  

  • adultery 

  • mental or physical cruelty 

  • imprisonment 

  • desertion 

  • institutionalism 

  • deviant sexual behavior 

  • habitual drunkenness or drug habituation 

  • divorce from bed and board 

If you are not sure whether you should file for a no-fault or fault divorce, consult with a divorce attorney in Somerset County to discuss your specific situation. 

How Long Does a Divorce Take?  

The time it takes to finalize a divorce in New Jersey depends on a few factors, such as the complexity of the issues at hand, the level of cooperation between both parties, and the court’s calendar. Typically, the timeframe can range from a few months to over a year, depending on the issues that need to be resolved.  

Some common issues that can prolong a divorce include property division, child custody, and alimony. If both parties can come to an agreement on these issues, the divorce may be finalized more quickly. However, if the parties disagree or have complex financial situations, it can take longer for the court to reach a decision. 

How Much Does a Divorce Cost?

The cost of a divorce in New Jersey varies depending on the complexity of the case and whether the parties can agree on the issues. On average, a divorce in New Jersey can cost anywhere from $10,000 to $20,000, but it can be much higher if it is a contested divorce.  

Some of the costs associated with divorce include attorney, court filing, mediation, and expert witness fees. You need to budget for these expenses and speak with an experienced attorney to get a better idea of the total cost of your divorce. 

What Is the Divorce Process in New Jersey?

The divorce process in New Jersey begins with one spouse filing a petition for divorce and serving the other spouse with a copy of the documents. Other steps in the divorce process include: 

  1. consulting with a divorce attorney 

  1. filling out the necessary forms 

  1. filing the forms at the courthouse 

  1. paying the applicable filing fees 

  1. serving copies of the documents to the spouse 

  1. waiting for the spouse’s response to the divorce petition 

In New Jersey, the respondent spouse has 35 days to respond to the divorce petition.  Once divorce papers are filed and the other spouse has submitted their response, the parties can either go to court (contested divorce) or engage in out-of-court negotiations (uncontested divorce) to reach an agreement.  

How Can a Divorce Attorney Help?

If you are going through a divorce in New Jersey, seek the advice of a divorce attorney. Here are some of the ways a divorce attorney can help: 

  • Provide legal advice and guidance throughout the divorce process 

  • Ensure your rights are protected and help negotiate a fair settlement 

  • Assist with paperwork, filing, and court appearances 

  • Represent you in court if necessary 

  • Help with complex financial issues, such as property division and alimony 

  • Provide emotional support and guidance during this difficult time 

As a divorce attorney at Gary Blaustein, Esq, I provide comprehensive counsel and personalized service to clients who are looking to end their marriages.  

Divorce Attorney in Somerset County, New Jersey

If you are considering filing for dissolution of marriage or have been served with divorce papers, contact Gary Blaustein, Esq. As a divorce attorney in Somerset County, New Jersey, I work hard to protect my clients’ best interests and provide them with the reliable legal counsel they need. Contact my office to schedule a free consultation to discuss your next steps.